Craft beer adventures and experiences… one pint at a time

St. Paddie's DayWith the impending arrival of St. Paddie’s Day on Wed. March 17, 2010, I’ve seen a lot of “Green Beer” promotions all around town.  Interestingly enough, it always seems to feature the self-appointed King of Beers, Budweiser, one of my least favorite concoctions

However, I think a new tradition for those who don’t love the taste of Guinness (the most Irish beer going as far as I’m concerned) could be to ease into Guinness half-heartedly (so to speak) by having a Guinness-blended concoction this shamrock day!

Here’s a few unofficial non-“Irish” self-sanctioned mixes that I’ve tasted (and some that I’ve not) with my assessment of what I think:

The Unofficial Beer Goddess’ Half Guinness List (Guinness always insists on being on top!)

  • Dark Side of the Moon – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Blue Moon (subtle)
  • Dirty Shock – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Shocktop (WAY better than Budweiser and Anheuser Busch still gets some cash)
  • Dirty Hoe – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Hoegarden (My personal favorite blend due to the Hoegarden, and perfect for gardening)
  • Dirty Wifebeater – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Stella Artois (Not yet done this one)
  • Cherry Truffle Yum – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Lindeman’s Kriek Lambic (Chocolate-like and decadent!)
  • Guinness Diet – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Diet Coke (A future taste)
  • Trojan Horse – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Coke or Pepsi (ditto)
  • All Irish Black and Tan – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Smithwick’s Ale (maybe this Wed)
  • Black Ice – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Smirnoff Ice (not yet)
  • Black Velvet – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Champagne (I may save this for New Year’s)
  • Dirty canoe – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Budweiser (I just don’t drink “canoe” beer so haven’t had this one)
  • Snake Bite – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Cider (my 25-year-old daughter’s favorite!)
  • Guinness Magic – 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Magic Hat #9 (I’ve gotta find a place that has both so I can try this one!)
  • Dirty Guinness – 1/2 Guinness on the floor (LOL) – this is usually an end-of-night drink for some!

Let me know what you think – and hey, luck of the Irish to you all this St. Patrick’s Day!

p.s., With no disrespect intended to my Irish friends, here’s a short joke just in time for St.Patrick’s Day:  “An Irishman left a bar. (Hey, it COULD happen!)”

Bottoms up,

The Unofficial Beer Goddess

============Copyright, the Unofficial Beer Goddess, 2010===============================================

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

