Craft beer adventures and experiences… one pint at a time

There’s a saying that the more you know, the more you know you don’t know – and boy, oh boy – do I ever feel that way today!  I did research on all the various craft and micro brew blogs and websites and am simply amazed at number of blogs, pages, postings, opinions, yada yada  on craft beers.  It is overwhelming!

And despite this – I still know more about beer than 99% of the people I know or meet in my US and international travels (of either gender).  In the U.S. the major lager brewers (Miller, Michelob, Anheuser-Busch, Coors) still dominate the market amongst my peers (who are typically highly educated middle-aged professionals!)  Whenever I go to a local pub with friends, it’s common for the beer of choice to be Budweiser or Miller Lite!  But slowly, my “beer snobbery” as they call it is starting to rub off on colleagues who now imbibe such radical choices as Hoegarden.

It’s also fairly uncommon for a female to like beer period.  Whenever I visit a brewpub in a city where I happen to be working for the week (I do training and consulting in my day job), it is seldom that I see women enjoying craft beers.  In fact, usually I find that women who come in typically drink wine even when there are hundreds of choices of craft beers to choose from. A common lament from women is that they simply don’t like the taste of beer (as if it is a single flavor!)

My goal for this blog is simply to share and record the new beers I find in my travels and provide links so that others (like me) in Florida and around the world can try new tastes and maybe visit some of the great places I find!

I know I’ve got a lot of catching up to do in the beer blogging world, but I take solace in the fact that I enjoy beer tastings, brew fests, and simply talking beer.  So, while I’m no longer a 20-something beer sampler, I do have an enjoyable and exciting life of travel, work, friends, and tasting nights.

Let me know what you think – is it too late to catch up on beer tasting?  Is there hope to become a beer blogger of any status?

Cheers!

Comments on: "Is it too late to catch up on beer tasting?" (3)

  1. Hi Carol,

    I have an idea for you. Come attend the first-ever Beer Bloggers Conference (www.BeerBloggersConference.org), where you’ll be able to meet many of those beer bloggers you mention and perhaps learn a few things too! It’s planned for Nov 5-7 in Boulder, Colorado.

    Allan Wright
    Beer Bloggers Conference

    • Allan,

      Thank you for your comment. I’d love to attend the conference in November, and to do so I need to juggle a trip to Istanbul where I am delivering the keynote address at an international project management conference earlier that same week. But please keep in touch as the date approaches and I hope I can make it work!

      Regards,
      Carol

    • Alan,

      I’m interested in your beer bloggers conference in Boulder – tell me more please. Is there a website for it?

      Thanks,
      Carol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

