Craft beer adventures and experiences… one pint at a time

One more day… and then I am off to a three-week adventure involving beer passion, friends and family (in that order!)

I feel truly blessed to be able to attend the European Beer Bloggers Conference in Dublin, Ireland this coming weekend with an agenda that rivals none, followed by a few nights outside Edinburgh, Scotland (for the 700th anniversary of the Bannockburn battle!), followed by a stopover with a good friend (and more craft beer) in Toronto, followed by a few more nights in Las Vegas with friends, followed by a week up in Alberta with family (and a few craft brewery visits.)

bbc europe I get asked weekly why beer is my passion and how I’m earning from the pursuit of fine craft ales, and the short answer is that I love the taste of craft beer and I love the community of entrepreneurs and inventors behind it, and to-date, it’s a pursuit for the sole interest and joy of the craft.

I am fortunate to have a solid career in software consulting (enabling me to work anywhere -home or away), that allows me to pursue my hobby worldwide.

BrewStat

BUT, I would love to parlay what I’ve done for years in the software industry (speaking at international conferences) into a career in the craft beer industry on behalf of a Brewers Guild or the American Craft Brewers Association or a similar group in Europe, Asia and North America.

Where we’re at in the U.S. with Craft Beer…

Our domestic craft brew industry is, as you already know, exploding with flavor, innovation, and creativity, and it’s a beautiful thing.

At home in Florida, challenges emerge with legislation, funding, and big beer domination, but the tide is turning.  We have passionate brewers, consumers and a cast of workers bringing it all together.  As a nation, craft beers fuels a proud and emerging community that contributed over $10.2Billion to the U.S. economy in 2012/13.  And we are leading the world in a way unseen since the wine revolution propelled Napa Valley to stardom.

I can’t Wait for the Weekend…

The U.K. and Europe face different issues that we do in North American, CAMRA has emerged as a 170,000 member force in U.K. legislation, and brewers are taxed based on the ABV %.  But, the quest for good taste, creative recipes, community and innovation pervades the issues – and this weekend’s lineup of events and lectures is inspiring.

Watch this space for updates, photos, comments, and links… I’ll take you along on my journey and pursuit of fine brews across 4 countries in as many weeks (and have a happy, safe, 4th of July!)

Cheers,
Carol

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

