Craft beer adventures and experiences… one pint at a time

As I await my flights to attend #EBBC15 in Brussels, it strikes me that I’m a bona fide beer snob. You know the type… I’ve chided friends who choose mass produced brews instead of craft varietals or one off releases, and I’m sorry.

It’s a 1st world problem when we create drama or hierarchy of peeps by self-selecting friends based on what they drink… And… I realize it’s stupid. Kind of like when you realize you’re any kind of “elitist anything” based on an opinion. And, we all do it without thinking.

I’m committed to change and the #BBC15 in Asheville last month opened my eyes. One of our conference sessions featured a senior QA professional from, *gasp* Budweiser, THE mass produced beer often only whispered about in craft beer circles. The presentation was FIRST RATE! And professional and scientific and respectful… everything a solid presentation should be. I was impressed and humbled at the same time.

It hit me then… We… are… privileged. We can drink what we like here in a free first world county, and we are also free to like what we drink. It’s a great thing!

So, from now on, if you see me and you’re drinking a xxx-lite, good on you! I promise to be respectful of your beverage choice, no matter what.

Meanwhile, I’m enjoying a Goose Island IPA (it’s only a short distance from mass produced brew) and today, that’s what I like.

image

Cheers!
Carol

Comments on: "Drink what you like, like what you drink" (1)

  1. I agree that the dissing macro beer in craft circles gets old. We have to remember that nearly 88% of all beer sold in the U.S. is still from the big guys.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

