Craft beer adventures and experiences… one pint at a time

I have an affinity for Shakespeare’s quotes and his famous “Rose” quote came to mind as I mused about discussions with homebrewers, bloggers and others over the term “Microbrew(s)” vs “Craft beer.”

“That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.”
William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet 

Perhaps I’m old school (I’m no longer 30-something,) by still using the term “Microbrews” instead of the new, hip term “Craft Beer” – but isn’t it all beer after all?

I find it interesting that aside from industry insiders, whose passion or profession is craft beer, everyone else I meet in the U.S. or abroad knows about mass-produced beer or microbreweries, but not so much about “craft beer.”

So, despite ongoing quips and comments from industry “insiders”, I’m staying the course and keeping MicrobrewsUSA as my blog name (with due thanks to Shakespeare!)

Here’s a bit of background that I presented last month at the European Beer Bloggers Conference in Brussels (#EBBC5):

terminology craft beer1
terminology craft beer2

To me, changing terminology is an issue in every industry (I wrote a blog post for the software engineering audience last month on this topic: “In a few words: why IT is intimidating”)

So, tell me, what do you think:

Does it matter whether you call your beer microbrewed, craft, specialty, ale, lager, Belgian, or something else, if it all “tastes as sweet”?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

